Reviewed

Five Faves: For a Muted Spring Lip

spring lippies redux

On a day-to-day basis, I’m all about lip products that are, more than anything, easy to wear. You know: swipe it on, out the door. Reapply on the go. And lately, instead of bright or deep colors of any kind, all I’ve been wanting to wear are more subtle lip colors. We’re all familiar with the phrase “your-lips-but-better,” right? But what are we actually talking about–your-lips-but-pinker? Your-lips-but-redder? Your-lips-but-exactly-the-same-color-yet-still-somehow-better?

It occurs to be that all my current faves are kind of YLBB. But in different directions–one peachier, one browner. So here are five different picks for a less-is-more spring lip look:

The Sweet Peach: Burt’s Bees Lip Shimmer in Apricot, $4.99

Sometimes I get worries that lighter, peachier shades will look weird on top of my natural lip color, which is more pink. But this stuff isn’t too light, or too peachy. It’s nice and sheer, and it just warms up my lips a little bit, giving a 60s, Bardot vibe with minimal effort.

The Dusty Pink: bareMinerals Pop of Passion Lip Oil-Balm in Nude Passion, $16

Though the product name might suggest it, this tinted balm is not very oily or shiny. Nor is it terribly nude in color–this shit is a muted, dusty pink–the name belied again! Despite all this deception, I’m v. into this stuff–both because of the formula and because of the color. It leaves a neutral pink stain on the lips even after the balmy feel has worn off. Someone please buy me the rest of the colors?

The Warm Spring Red: Burt’s Bees Lip Shimmer in Cherry, $4.99

I sweat Burt’s Bees are not paying me for this. (I wish they were! Holla at your girl, BB.) Y’all know I love my sheer reds, and this lippie is very sheer, but very bright and red. Perfection.

The Easy Nude: Maybelline Baby Lips in Peach Kiss, $4.49

This peach lip balm goes on semi-sheer, dulling the natural pink of my lips into something a little more nude. Because it’s so subtle, I don’t have to worry about it looking weird as it wears off. It’s like Nude 101. Beginner’s Nude. Intro to Nude Studies. Pre-Nude. Training Nude.

The Not-Too-Brown Brown: NYX Slim Lip Pencil in Natural, $3.49

This lip pencil is absurdly smooth and easy to apply. Good for a little bit of that Nineties vibe, but without too much commitment. I hate commitment.

One thought on “Five Faves: For a Muted Spring Lip

Leave a Reply

